Double Double Under Under

It wasn’t until I started writing about going to the lake that I remembered all the goals I had for this year and realized how much work they were going to be. The big big goal, to buy a house, happens a little bit at a time, paycheck by paycheck, until the actual process of looking and buying starts.  But the physical goals, like doing a pull up, those need to be worked towards with a bit more focus and planning than just an automated savings account or picking one weekend a month to head to the lake.  I was actually going to have to start working on these so that bit by bit over the year I would get strong enough to do them.  And with 9 more months left in the year I figured I had plenty of time to start… a little bit later.

Our gym attendance has been pretty spotty since Christmas, kind of like our diet, but we decided March would be the month we get back on track.  I certainly wasn’t expecting to make any great strides, if anything I was only trying to get back to where I was in December when out of nowhere, right at the beginning of the workout, bam! My first Double Under!


This isn’t me, obviously. But I thought you might not know what a double under is.

I’ve been trying to do a double under for about 6 months, but only whenever they were part of the workout. It was something I wanted to conquer, but I didn’t know how to work towards it. It wasn’t like building the upper body strength (and hand calluses) to do a pull up. People kept saying to me that it would just come. Keep working on it and you’ll just get them.  And that’s exactly how it happened.

I was so used to the rope not making it all the way around and whipping my arms and legs that the first time it came back around I wasn’t ready for it with another jump. It just fell at my feet and it took me a second to realize what happened.   I screamed and screamed and jumped around! And just like that, I was doing double unders.  Single Single Double, Single Single Double, Single Single Double, Single Single Double.  Four times.
And then four times again. And again and again.

It was a small victory, but it’s a check on the list.  That paired with all the hype about The Open for The Crossfit Games has me pretty pumped to be back at the gym!

About HeatherK

joke teller. tea drinker. npr listener. baby kisser.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Double Double Under Under

Leave a Reply

