B in a Box

Whenever a box comes into our lives I usually leave it on the floor for a few days so the cats can play in it before I break it down for recycling.  This box has been around since Valentine’s Day, which embarrassingly means it’s been in this corner of the apartment for over a month!

There is a reason for keeping this box that extends beyond our own laziness, and even beyond how cute Rutherford B. Hayes is sleeping here.

In the middle of the afternoon Doc starts to cry and cry for me to play with him.  He is so loud and so persistent that I can’t make phone calls when he’s awake!

I put Doc in this box in one corner of the room and I gather up the ridiculous amount of cat toys and stand in the opposite corner.  One by one, I throw the cat toys at to him in the box.  He tries to catch them out of the air and bats them all around the box.  By the time I’m out of cat toys Doc has found something else to keep his attention for a few minutes so I can go back to work.

I can’t help but think that having a deaf cat is preparing me for having a toddler someday!  By the looks of things, Doc and I will have to kick RBH out of his new bed next time we want to play.

About HeatherK

joke teller. tea drinker. npr listener. baby kisser.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to B in a Box

  1. MOM says:

    Oh, RBH — he is so cute. I love the looks of your turkey burgers with all the fixens. Can’t wait to come to dinner. 🙂

  2. Tracie says:

    I miss my new favorite blog when you don’t post every day! Can you please get on a twice-a-day schedule like YHL? 🙂

  3. Tracie says:

    I thought I just commented this but I don’t see it… What I said was that I miss my new favorite blog when you don’t post every day! And I want you on a twice-a-day schedule like YHL!

  4. Pingback: The Uncured January | Feather Weather Heather

Leave a Reply

