pillows are like clean underwear

One of my favorite Brian Andreas prints is about clean underwear and control and mothers.

“Make sure you got clean underwear, she always said, in case you get in an accident & I always figured that’d be the least of my worries, but now I’m older & I see there’s a lot you can’t control & some you can control & clean underwear is one of those you can. For the most part. “

And throw pillows are one of the things that I thought I could control, for the most part.  I’ve been told that making the bed is the most important thing to do every day.  It helps because it makes you feel accomplished and neat first thing in the morning, and for me it keeps me from crawling back into bed for multiple naps throughout the day.  But then I watched the movie Smart People and Ellen Page’s character tells her uncle whose life is falling apart, “You should really make your bed. It sets the tone for the day.”   And he responds, “But, how do you know what tone I was trying to set?”  So I stopped making my bed for a year and half because I didn’t know what tone I was trying to set.

Until I started reading design blogs.  Then I knew exactly what tone I would like to set and it included a lot of DIY projects and a lot of cleanliness, including a made bed.  The logical step would have been to start with making my bed, but never being one for logic I impulse bought these ridiculously expensive throw pillows at a big box store instead, thinking they would serve as motivation to make the bed and decorate the rest of the bedroom and then the house.  In reality, they most of their time on the floor, or smashed haphazardly in an unmade bed while I read and roll around with the cats. But at least I have them.

About HeatherK

joke teller. tea drinker. npr listener. baby kisser.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to pillows are like clean underwear

  1. Pingback: Landing Strip | Feather Weather Heather

Leave a Reply

