What if I learned to cook?

 

I don’t really cook, like at all.  I mean, I occasionally throw some vegetable sin a pan with some olive oil and garlic but that’s it.  I can follow a recipe, kind of, but I never do.  It seems like a lot of work to find a recipe, go buy all the ingredients, try to make it, and then maybe not even like it.  I’m also a bad grocery shopper, but I think the two go together.  If I knew what I was cooking and how to cook it, then I would know what to buy.  I tend to just wander around the store and pick up items until I’m bored.  Then I go home with $80 worth of candy and 4 avocados and I eat microwave popcorn for dinner every night. But what if I learned to cook?

On some blog that I read a while ago that I can’t remember any more, someone said their husband was cooking his way through some cookbook (Jamie Oliver, maybe?) a la Julie/Julia and I thought, yes! Why don’t I just do that!  I have cookbooks! So maybe I will.  Except without any of the time limits or restrictions, but just try to make every recipe in one cookbook and see what I learn and how it goes.  I’ll probably start…. in January.  well, maybe in December.  We’ll see.  I’ve tried 365 photo projects before but once I quit on day 50 and once I quit on day 4.  Stick-to-it-ness is not one of my strong points.

As for the book, it will probably be one by Isa Chandra Moskowitz because all the cookbooks I have are by her.  In fact, it will probably be Veganomicon because I bought it and I have yet to cook one single thing from it.  Not one!  I’m not vegan.  In fact, I’m not even vegetarian anymore.  But I like to cook vegan because of all the vegetables and because touching meat totally grosses me out.

Add it to the list!

About HeatherK

joke teller. tea drinker. npr listener. baby kisser.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What if I learned to cook?

  1. Pingback: Paleo-ish | Feather Weather Heather

Leave a Reply

